Nuk Korako MP has been reselected to contest the Port Hills electorate for National at the 2017 General Election.

Mr Korako, a List MP based in Port Hills, entered Parliament at the 2014 election. Currently held by the Labour Party, National won the Party Vote with a 9,200-vote majority, a 4,000-vote increase on 2011.

“It is a real privilege to be running again for National in Port Hills. My family and I live in the electorate, I am closely connected to our local communities here, and I’m looking forward to hitting the campaign trail to give them a real choice at the next election” Mr Korako says.

The Port Hills Electorate is a largely urban electorate that covers Christchurch’s southern suburbs, stretching from Halswell in the east to Lyttelton, Redcliffs & Sumner in the west, including the suburbs around the Cashmere Hills.

“This National Government is backing our hard-working businesses to create jobs and support families. They deserve a local Electorate MP in Government that has real-world experience and knows the value of hard-work. I am the clear choice in 2017 to ensure the Port Hills electorate continues to get ahead,” Mr Korako says.

“I’m proud of what I’ve achieved for Port Hills in my first term. I successfully lobbied the Minister of Education to keep Redcliffs School in Redcliffs, and I am now working on improving road safety for schools around Woolston and Linwood.

“National has stood steadfast by Canterbury following the devastating quakes, not only throughout the recovery phase but now into regeneration as well. We’re improving local infrastructure like roads and schools, boosting the housing supply, and ensuring businesses can keep growing.

“I will be going into 2017 campaigning hard for the Port Hills electorate, talking about my track record of success at delivering for local communities in Bill English’s strong, stable, positive National-led Government and positive plan for New Zealand.”

Of Ngāi Tahu descent, Mr Korako lives in Somerfield with his wife Chris and their four sons. In Parliament, he currently serves as Chair of the Maori Affairs Select Committee.

Share this post